Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Torsten Belschner: »Globorama« [2005-07]

Interaktive Installation und Forschungsprojekt

Eröffnung: Fr. 28.09.07, 18 Uhr, ZKM_Medientheater
Präsentation: 29.09. - 21.10.07, ZKM_Medientheater

Projektbeschreibung | Credits | Autoren


c) Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger 


Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Torsten Belschner: »Globorama« [2005-07]

Eröffnet wird das PanoramaFestival am 28.09.2007 mit der interaktiven Installation »Globorama« von Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger und Torsten Belschner, einem in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Konstanz durchgeführten Forschungsprojekt.

»Globorama« erkundet durch innovative Darstellungsformen von Satellitenbildern neue Möglichkeiten navigierbarer Informationsräume:  Umgeben von 360°-Satellitenaufnahmen der Erde können die Besucher per Laserpointer den gesamten Globus bereisen und an ausgewählten Punkten über panoramische Fotografien in den jeweiligen Ort eintauchen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Konstanz wurde ein spezielles Darstellungsverfahren entwickelt, das auf der Transformation von Bilddaten mittels eines komplexen Logarithmus basiert. In Echtzeit auf Satellitenaufnahmen angewandt ermöglicht dieses Verfahren das übergangslose Durchqueren komplexer Bildinformationen in Nah- und Fernsicht.

Über den Laserpointer können die Besucher entweder die Erde im ‚freien Flug’ erkunden oder eine kleinformatige Übersichtskarte einblenden und dort einen bestimmten Ort auswählen, den sie per ‚Autopilot’ besuchen möchten. Als weitere Option bietet das Interface die Möglichkeit, zum Ausgangspunkt der Reise zurückzukehren, dem jeweiligen Präsentationsort der Installation.
    Je tiefer der Benutzer sich über die Welt der Satellitenbilder hinweg bewegt, desto mehr Informationen bieten sich ihm: Ortsnamen werden eingeblendet, Icons, die auf panoramische Aufnahmen eines bestimmten Ortes verweisen,  sowie Webcams werden angezeigt, die bei Ansteuerung aktuelle Aufnahmen eines Ortes sichtbar werden lassen.

»Globorama« bietet ein neuartiges Modell der Echtzeitabbildung von und Interaktion mit georeferenzierten Bild- und Textdaten in einer panoramischen Umgebung und schafft so neue Möglichkeiten der Bündelung, Darstellung und Navigation von Informationen. 

^

Credits:

Autoren: Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Torsten Belschner

Visuelles Konzept und Realisierung:
Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Martin Preiser, Nikolaus Völzow

Audio-Konzept und Realisierung:
Torsten Belschner, dataphonic audio solutions, Freiburg

Interaktionsdesign und Realisierung [Laserpointer-Interaktion]:
Werner A. König, Hans-Joachim Bieg, Toni Schmidt, Prof. Dr. H. Reiterer
Projekt inteHRDis, AG Mensch-Computer Interaktion, Universität Konstanz

Produktion:
ZKM | Institut für Bildmedien
Produktionsleitung: Bernd Lintermann
Mitarbeit: Jan Gerigk, Arne Grässer, Manfred Hauffen, Petra Kaiser, Silke Sutter, Joachim Tesch, Christina Zartmann

PanoramaScreen:
Der PanoramaScreen basiert auf Jeffrey Shaws interaktivem Kinosystem.
Der PanoramaScreen ist eine Gemeinschaftsentwicklung des ZKM | Institut für Bildmedien, Karlsruhe [D] und des UNSW iCinema Research Centre, Sydney [AUS].
Herstellung: Huib Nelissen Decor en Constructiewerken, Haarlem, [NL]

Panorama Display Software:
Konzept und Entwicklung: Bernd Lintermann, ZKM | Institut für Bildmedien

Ein Forschungsprojekt im Rahmen des Forschungsverbundes »Information at your fingertips - Interaktive Visualisierung für Gigapixel Displays« und des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs »Explorative Analysis and Visualization of Large Information Spaces« an der Universität Konstanz
gefördert durch das Förderprogramm Informationstechnik des Landes Baden-Württemberg [BW-FIT]
Projektpartner:
Institut für Bildmedien, ZKM | Karlsruhe
Arbeitsgruppe Computergrafik und Medieninformatik, Universität Konstanz
Arbeitsgruppe Mensch-Computer Interaktion, Universität Konstanz

Besonderer Dank an: Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik, Tübingen.
Sponsoring: IDS Imaging Development Systems GmbH, Obersulm
Das Projekt zeigt Bildmaterial des World Wide Panorama-Projektes.

^

Über die Autoren:

Bernd Lintermann
arbeitet als Künstler und Wissenschaftler im Bereich Echtzeit-Computergrafik mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf interaktiven und generativen Systemen. Die Ergebnisse seiner Arbeit werden im wissenschaftlichen, künstlerischen und kommerziellen Kontext angewendet. Seine Arbeit umfasst computergenerierte Bilder, interaktive Installationen sowie Projektionsumgebungen.

Bernd Lintermanns Arbeiten werden weltweit in Museen und im Rahmen von Festivals ausgestellt, wie u.a. am ICC InterCommunication Center in Tokio, dem Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, dem ZKM | Karlsruhe, den Festivals ISEA und DEAF oder auch dem Ars Electronica Festival. Er arbeitete mit international renommierten Künstlern wie Bill Viola, Peter Weibel und Jeffrey Shaw, und schuf Werke für das CAVE™ Environment sowie für kuppelförmige und panoramische Projektionsumgebungen. Darüber hinaus veröffentlichte er zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Ausätze, darunter u.a. Beiträge zur SIGGRAPH.
Lintermann ist Mitgründer der Firma greenworks, die seine Software »xfrog« weiterentwickelt. Bei »xfrog« handelt es sich um eine Software zur prozeduralen Modellierung und Animation von organischen Objekten, die beispielsweise von Firmen der Unterhaltungsindustrie wie Electronic Arts, Lucas Digital und Digital Domain verwendet wird.
Seit 2005 ist Bernd Lintermann Leiter des Institut für Bildmedien am ZKM | Karlsruhe und seit 2006 Professor an der Hochschule für Gestaltung [HfG] Karlsruhe.

+ + Hompage Bernd Lintermann
+ + ZKM | Institut für Bildmedien



Joachim Böttger

promoviert in der Arbeitsgruppe Computergrafik und Medieninformatik an der Universität Konstanz. Er ist dort Mitglied des Graduiertenkollegs »Explorative Analysis and Visualization of Large Information Spaces« und beschäftigt sich mit der Visualisierung von sehr kleinen Details in sehr komplexen Kontexten, wie beispielsweise in geographischen Daten oder in Softwarepaketen. Böttger studierte Computervisualistik an der Universität Magdeburg. Während dieser Zeit war er u.a. an dem Projekt »Ultima Ratio« von Daniela Alina Plewe beteiligt, einer interaktiven Installation zur Veranschaulichung von Entscheidungsprozessen. Des Weiteren war er Mitglied von »House_n«, einer Forschungsgruppe am Massachusetts Institute of Technology, wo er an neuen Techniken zur visuellen Vermittlung von Alltagsinformationen in architektonischen Umgebungen arbeitete. Joachim Böttger hat ebenfalls an Forschungsprojekten im Bereich der synthetischen Holographie mitgewirkt.

 
Torsten Belschner
arbeitet als Sounddesigner und Komponist an der Schnittstelle zwischen Musik und Software. Er entwickelt interaktive Klanginstallationen, die komplexe Datenströme in vielkanalige Umgebungen umsetzen. Internationale Anerkennung fanden u.a. sein Audiokonzept für den Bertelsmann Pavillon »Planet.m« auf der Expo 2000 in Hannover, seine Audio-Environments für die interaktive Installation »The Room With a View« im Skoda-Pavillon der VW-Autostadt Wolfsburg oder für das Projekt »Web of Life«.

+ + Hompepage Torsten Belschner, dataphonic audio solutions

^

Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Torsten Belschner: »Globorama« [2005-07]

Interactive installation and research project

Opening: Fr 09/28/07, 6 pm, ZKM_Media Theater
Presentation: 09/29 - 10/21/07, ZKM_Media Theater

 

Project description | Credits | Authors

c) Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger



Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Torsten Belschner: »Globorama« [2005-07]

The festival will open on 28 September 2007 with the interactive installation »Globorama« by Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger and Torsten Belschner, a research project conducted in co-operation with the University of Konstanz.

Using innovative representational forms of satellite images, »Globorama« investigates new navigable information space: Surrounded by 360°-satellite images of the earth, visitors can travel the entire globe with a laser pointer and at selected points submerge in panoramic photos of the respective location.

In collaboration with the University of Konstanz, a special mode of representation  was developed based on the transformation of image data by means of a complex logarithm. Applied in real-time to satellite images, this process enables the seamless traversal of complex pictorial information in both close-up and panoramic views.

With the laser pointer, the users can explore the earth in 'free flight' or display a small format survey map to select a specific place they would like to visit by means of the 'auto pilot'-function. Another option for the users is to return to the starting point of their voyages, i.e. to the respective venue the installation is presented at.
    The lower the user traverses across the world of satellite images, the more information is being displayed: place names become visible, as do icons standing for panoramic photographs of individual locations, and, in addition, web cams, which, upon selection by the user, display current images from their respective location.

»Globorama« is a new model for the real-time presentation of and interaction with geocoded image and text data in a panoramic environment, opening new possibilities for the combination, presentation and navigation of information.

^

Credits:

Concept: Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Torsten Belschner

Visual concept and realization: Bernd Lintermann, Joachim Böttger, Martin Preiser, Nikolaus Völzow

Audio concept and realization: Torsten Belschner, dataphonic audio solutions, Freiburg

Interaction design and realization [laser pointer interaction]:
Werner A. König, Hans-Joachim Bieg, Toni Schmidt, Prof. Dr. H. Reiterer
Project inteHRDis, Human-Computer-Interaction Group, University of Konstanz

Production:
ZKM | Institute for Visual
Project direction: Bernd Lintermann
Realization: Jan Gerigk, Arne Graesser, Manfred Hauffen, Petra Kaiser, Silke Sutter, Joachim Tesch, Christina Zartmann

PanoramaScreen:
The PanoramaScreen is based on Jeffrey Shaw’s interactive panoramic cinema research.
The PanoramaScreen was jointly developed by the ZKM | Institute for Visual Media, Karlsruhe [D] and the UNSW iCinema Research Centre, Sydney [AUS].
Screen manufacturing: Huib Nelissen Decor en Constructiewerken, Haarlem [NL].

Panorama Display Software:
Concept and development: Bernd Lintermann, ZKM | Institute for Visual Media

This research project was realized as part of the research association »Information at your fingertips - Interactive Visualization for Gigapixel Displays« and the DFG-graduate program »Explorative Analysis and Visualization of Large Information Spaces« at Konstanz University
funded through the Information Technology Funding Program of the federal state of Baden-Wuerttemberg [BW-FIT].

Project partners:
Institute for Visual Media, ZKM | Karlsruhe
Computer Graphics and Media Design Group, University of Konstanz
Human-Computer-Interaction Group, University of Konstanz

Special thanks to: Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics, Tübingen.
Sponsoring: IDS Imaging Development Systems GmbH, Obersulm
The project shows image material form the World Wide Panorama Project.

^

About the authors:

Bernd Lintermann
is working as both artist and scientist in the field of real-time computer graphics with a special focus on interactive and generative systems. The results of his research are applied in various different contexts in the sciences, the arts and in the commercial sector. His work includes computer generated images, interactive installations and projection environments.

Bernd Lintermann’s work is presented worldwide in museums and as part of festivals, including presentations at the ICC InterCommunication Center in Tokyo, the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, the ZKM | Karlsruhe, ISEA, DEAF and the Ars Electronica Festival.
He has collaborated with internationally renowned artists such as Bill Viola, Peter Weibel and Jeffrey Shaw, and has created works for the CAVE™ environment as well as for dome-shaped and panoramic projection environments. In addition, he has published numerous scientific papers, inlcuding contributions to the SIGGRAPH conference.
He is co-founder of the company »greenworks« that develops further his software »xfrog«. »xfrog« is software for the procedural modeling and animation of organic objects, which is used by companies from the entertainment industry, such as Electronic Arts, Lucas Digital and Digital Domain.
Since 2005, Bernd Lintermann is head of the Institute for Visual Media at the ZKM | Karlsruhe and since 2006 Professor at the State Academy of Design [HfG] in Karslruhe, Germany.

+ + Hompage of Bernd Lintermann
+ + ZKM | Institute for Visual Media

 
Joachim Böttger
Following his studies in Computer Visualistics at Magdeburg University, Joachim Böttger is currently pursuing his PhD in the PhD graduate program »Explorative Analysis and Visualization of Large Information Spaces« in the working group »Computer Graphics and Media Design« at Konstanz University. The focus of his research is the visualization of very small details in highly complex contexts, such as geographical data or software packages.
Projects Joachim Böttger worked on include the art project »Ultima Ratio« by Daniela Alina Plewe, an interactive installation illustrating decision-making processes. As a member of »House_n«, a research group at the MIT, he worked on new methods for the visual provision of information on every-day life in architectural environments. Another field of his research is the area of synthetic holography.

Torsten Belschner
is a sound designer and composer working at the intersection of music and software, developing interactive sound installations with complex data streams in multi-channel environments. He is internationally known for his audio concept for the Bertelsmann Pavilion »Planet.m« at the Expo 2000 Hanover, for his audio environment for the interactive installation »Room With a View« at the Skoda Pavillion of the VW Autostadt Wolfsburg or for the project »Web of Life«.

+ + Homepage of Torsten Belschner, dataphonic audio solutions

^